Gracias, Mami

547964_10150891553129358_54250654_n (1)I am sharing a letter I wrote in Spanish to my lovely mom. I decided to translate it in hopes that it will bless my English-speaking friends as well ^^

Mothers out there who are persevering in Christ and loving your children with Christ’s love, keep doing what you are doing! ❤

Carta que escribi para mi mamita querida.
Madres~ sigan perseverando en Cristo y sigan amando a sus hijos con el amor de Cristo! ❤

————————– ❤ —————————–

SPANISH (original):

Mami, gracias por quien sos.

Ahora que veo como tantos estudiantes sufren con sus estudios, no sabes cuánto agradezco haberte tenido como mi mamá. Porque vos nunca me pusiste presión para estudiar, sino que me mostraste el gozo que hay en el aprendizaje.

Esos días que te acompañé a tus clases en el seminario y te veía aprender con ganas…

Los días antes de tus exámenes, cuando recitabas el alfabeto griego con entusiasmo y como si fuera un juego… parecía tan divertido que yo te seguía.

Los días que venías de enseñar en el seminario bien tarde, cansada, pero con una sonrisa gigante…

Y cuando yo traía tarea de cualquier materia, siempre estabas entusiasmada sobre qué aprendía. Algunas veces estabas tán entusiasmada que yo te tenía que pedir que no me ayudes o que no me des las respuestas.

En ese entonces, pensé que era normal que todas las madres no forzaran a sus hijos a “estudiar” o que tuvieran tal creatividad para hacer de un ejercicio simple como la memorización algo tan divertido.

Pensé que era normal que le quisiera contar de todo a mi mamá porque sabía que ella me entendía.

Pensé que era normal no tener secretos con una madre porque todo lo que le contaba, ella me respondía con sabiduría.

Y todo esto lo pensé no porque me dijiste que confiara en vos, sino porque me mostraste que podía contar con vos.

Como toda persona, no sos perfecta. Pero más que tus imperfecciones, me acuerdo de tu amor.

Tu amor siempre resonó más fuerte. Admiro cómo nunca te victimizaste aunque a decir verdad, tenías todo el “derecho” de hacerlo. Naciste en una familia no cristiana, en donde tu papá tomaba y fumaba, no estaban bien económicamente, y ni siquiera tenías buenas circunstancias para ir al colegio. En cambio, no perdiste tiempo diciendo “ay, pobre de mí”. Luego te casaste. Y no fue todo color de rosa. No había unidad entre marido y mujer. Pero tampoco te victimizaste. Decidiste amarnos y darnos todo lo que podías. Tu decisión de amarnos a oppa y a mi significo que a pesar de la ausencia mental-espiritual-emocional (y algunas veces física) de papá, nosotros recibimos amor.

Gracias, mami. Gracias por perseverar. Y voy a seguir orando que sigas perseverando en la gracia que Dios te dio. Vos me mostraste en millones de maneras lo que es el amor de Dios para conmigo. Gracias por ser una princesa, hija del Rey de Reyes.

—————————————–

ENGLISH (translation):

Mom, thank you for who you are.

Now that I see how many of my students “suffer” through their studies, you have no idea how much I thank God for having you as my mom. Because you never gave me pressure to study. Instead, you showed me what great joy there is in learning.

The days that I went with you to your seminary classes and I saw you learn enthusiastically…
The days before your exams, when you would recite the Greek alphabet like it was a game… it looked so fun that I followed along.
The days you came back really late from teaching at the seminary, but with a huge smile on your face because you loved your students…
And when I brought in homework from school, you were always excited about whatever I was learning. Sometimes you were so excited that I had to ask you NOT to help me or give me the answers.

At that time, I thought it was normal for all mothers not to force/demand their children “study”, or that all mothers had so much creativity so as to make a simple drill like memorizing into something so fun.
I thought it was normal for me to want to tell my mom everything because she understood me.
I thought it was normal to not have any secrets with you because everything I told you, you knew how to answer with wisdom.
And I thought all of these things not because you told me to trust you, but because you showed me I could trust you.

Like the rest of us, you aren’t perfect. But more than your imperfections, I remember your love.
Your love spoke stronger. I admire how you never victimized yourself, although, to speak the truth, you had every “right” to do so. You were born into a non-Christian family, where your father smoked and drank, your family was economically very unstable, and your circumstances weren’t the best to even finish high school. However, you didn’t waste time saying “Oh, poor me”. Then, you married. And it wasn’t rainbows and butterflies. There was no unity between man and wife. But you didn’t victimize yourself either. You chose to love and give us all that you could. Your choice to love my brother and me meant that although our dad was absent mentally-spiritually-emotionally (and sometimes physically), we received love.

Thank you, mom. Thanks for persevering. And I will pray that you may keep persevering in the grace that God gave you. You showed me in millions of ways what God’s love fore me is. Thank you for being a princes, the daughter of the King of Kings.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

