Sense of Direction

Many times I wonder if I’m headed towards the right direction in life.

‘Am I being too lazy? Do I need to be busier than I am? To what purpose?’

‘Do I need to do something radically different if I want to get married? If so, what is it? If not, is it okay to keep going on as I am doing now?’

‘If I ever want to adopt children, what are the things I can do now to get me there? Should I look for a better paying job?’

‘What is the church? Is our church headed in the direction of a healthy church? If not, what does it mean for me and my church?’

These and many other series of questions make their dwelling in my little brain here and there. A good friend of mine once said something like this:

“It sometimes feels like I’m floating in the middle of a vast ocean with only a pineapple to cling to.”

And I feel that more often than not lately.

Where can my pineapple and I head towards if I want to get to land?

What direction is the right direction?

While I may never know the specific answers to my 29,301,948,342 questions, I put my weary head to rest in this: God is sovereign.

I am never strong enough to mess up God’s plans for humanity nor for myself. I will probably make lots of wrong turns as I seek God’s good and pleasing will for my life, but the possibility of making mistakes doesn’t paralyze me because I know God is God.

Picture from 2023. Near Seoul Station. So many roads, paths, directions. Which to take?

One thought on “Sense of Direction”

Leave a comment